You Deserve the Gift of Being True to Your Authentic Self

Never change yourself to meet the expectations of others — it ain’t worth it.

Authentic Art
3 min readMay 17, 2024
photo by geralt from pixabay

True confession: I’m writing this article as much for myself as I am for you.

Moving on, when I’m with people whom I’m not comfortable with, I readily sacrifice being my authentic self, constantly monitoring what others might be expecting of me, and then doing my best to fill the bill.

It never works particularly well for me. I always come across awkwardly as I am not in my own skin, but that doesn’t stop me from trying.

I can be one persistent dude when I’m caught up in my people-pleasing addiction.

I sacrifice my authenticity for the illusion of safety.

Fortunately, there are a whole bunch of people with whom I’m very comfortable with being my authentic self. I have a blast being with those folks.

They get me. I get them. We mesh. It’s so easy, effortless.

But then there are those people who don’t get me. And visa versa.

It’s as if we are from two different planets.

I say something humorous. They don’t find it funny.

--

--

Authentic Art

Top writer in self-growth and inner child. I love to write because it gets me in touch with myself. Hopefully, it’s also helpful to others. So far, so good!